That “R” word

So May 21, 2011 came and went, and nothing happened. No Rapture. No super loud trumpet players, and no crashing cars that no longer had any drivers. Some of you already know that though I believe in the resurrection, I don’t really believe in the rapture, so it would be easy for me to look at all this, scoff, and tell everyone how they should join my side.

I’ve decided not to do that.

There is enough hurt and pain over this issue to spread around. I have heard stories of death, debt, and doubt being built on this expectation that has ended up being empty. I don’t personally know the people who followed this hope, but I’m sure there are questions. And there is no doubt that someone will leave the Christian faith for this experience.

Who will laugh at those who are confused?

Who will scoff at those who are hurting?

Who will turn away those who are so at a loss for answers that they will turn to anyone for hope?

I wish that no church will do this, though there will be some. My encouragement is that we would not become prideful in our own theology just because someone else’s has failed. We all have bad theology. We all are up for correction. We will be tempted to say “I told you so.” But that’s not going to help.

Let us exude the motherly attributes of God that wipes tears and comforts.

We will have time to correct (and that may take a long time). And when God returns, we will all be corrected.

To Harold Camping and the others who were adamant about May 21 being the date of the rapture:

I love you and hope that you do not lose hope in God’s actions for us. I would be one who would sit with you to some coffee or tea (iced sweet tea if you prefer) and chat with you about what has or has not happened.

Grace and peace to you all.

One thought on “That “R” word

Comments are closed.