Something Old, Something New…

A thought struck me today. I was visiting a new woodworking plant in Nicholasville today. It was the first time I was there. I could feel a little curiosity and a sense that people were pleased that I was there. I couldn’t help but notice that there were at least three things that they wanted me to look at. It’s funny how people tend to be that way at times.

We can tend to enjoy and even prefer the new things better. It might work better, it might smell better, but even more than that, it’s new, so I have to have it. I think we have hit this in the Modern Culture.

Science rules.

Innovation rules.

Progress is everything.

I must admit that looking at Christ’s redemption of mankind, I keep thinking that new things aren’t always what they are cracked up to be. I keep remembering that Christ said that the ones who have not seen, and yet still believe are truly blessed.

For a couple thousand years we deliver the same Gospel,

and people are still being blessed according to Christ.

I think that the old things must be remembered, but before certain North Americans get excited, I’m talking about an old tradition that goes for beyond anything you might have experienced.

How many creeds do you say?

How many times do you take communion?

What about praying at seven different times during the day?

The church I currently attend tries to merge the Old with the New ways of church. Think of very contemporary music, with a creed, passing of the peace, a sermon, and then communion (with a variation of things in between). If you’re a pastor, look this stuff up. See what your fathers (your true fathers) have done in the past. See why, and maybe adopt a thing or two.

This post is a sort of informal follow up of my recent Post-Modernism post. I think that the Modernist would be very proud of his tradition (however narrow and probably new it might be in the bigger context of the Church). A post-modernist who is not being a complete deconstructionist by saying that the narrative is a tool to control and hinder other views, can see that the bigger narratives in the Christian sense has more to say that many of the smaller narrative in our world-view.

Although most people that I have met (there are some exceptions) who fall into the bigger philosophy of Post-modernism do end up Deconstructing things. Maybe it’s just bad company, but I think their approach is excellent when it questions things, something Christianity could use more of right now.

Anyways, those are todays thoughts.

Grace and peace.

