Update on a past post

Not too long ago, I posted on the Trinity. I received a question asking me to substantiate my claim that the Triune God was submissive within itself in that the Father, the Son, and the Spirit all submit to each other. I was reading the Athanasian Creed and  have noticed that the three being completely equal is pushed very hard.

I am realizing that in reference to God’s saving act to us, that there is this “submitting” of the Spirit to the Son and the Son to the Father. But I would like to push another aspect in that the Spirit groans on our behalf and the Jesus is the Mediator  on our behalf. The only reason we use those terms is so that we can understand these actions. It doesn’t necessarily mean order and hierarchy, but speaks to our limited  minds. Therefore, one should note that there is a conceding of the Father to the Mediator. I must be careful in saying this, since all are three and yet one. So submission and concession are dangerous in that they distinguishes the three a little too much. That is all I can say concerning this, so I will end in good Eastern Orthodox (and Wesleyan for that matter) fashion by saying that the three are one and the one are three, and all else is divine mystery.

Grace and Peace to you all

3 thoughts on “Update on a past post

    • You have a good point. That’s one thing I love the Eastern Orthodox for. There is only so much we can know. We just don’t have the capacity to know God in all His glory. Good comment, simple and to the point.

Comments are closed.