Reading Some John Wesley

I was reading a book put together by Matt Leroy and Jeremy Summers. It is called The Way Forward: Discovering the Classic Message of Holiness. I started on the William Wilberforce chapter. It is quite an amazing story. For those who know his story, you might know that there was correspondence between John Wesley and William. I will give an excerpt from one piece by John Wesley concerning slavery:

“Are you a man…Do you never feel another’s pain?…It is you that induce the African villain to sell his countrymen…Indeed you say, ‘I pay honestly for my goods; and I am not concerned to know how they are come by.’ Thy hands, thy bed, thy furniture, thy house, thy lands, are at present stained with blood…Liberty is the right of every human creature…”

In a letter to William on February 24, 1791, John Wesley writes to him,

“O be not weary of well doing! Go on, in the name of God and in the power of His might, till even American slavery (the vilest that ever saw the sun) shall vanish away before it.”

Why do I write this? I think I have written enough for anyone who consistently reads my blog to know that I think Christian action is necessary for Biblical Holiness. I think that anyone who calls himself a Wesleyan, or even a holiness person, must know what was really said in the Holiness movement. It is not just some law to follow to seem more holy. It is seeking justice, righteousness, and mercy, which so happen to be focuses of God.

So next time you want to look at a worship song, hymn, liturgy, worship style, catechisms, or readings. I cannot say that where, how, or when I worship is the most important thing in exuding holiness. Some people disagree with me there. But I know that my position is biblical when looking at Jesus, the prophets, and the Torah. So be challenged to not go and worship in the worship building (what you might call a church) until your conversations, purchases, views of humanity, etc. are what God approves of.

BE CHALLENGED IN ORDER TO BE HOLY!!!

